Beam commissioning of the SπRIT time projection chamber

Genie Jhang, Jon Barney, Justin Estee, Tadaaki Isobe, Masanori Kaneko, Mizuki Kurata-Nishimura, Giordano Cerizza, Clementine Santamaria, Jung Woo Lee, Paweł Lasko, Jerzy Łukasik, William G. Lynch, Alan B. McIntosh, Tetsuya Murakami, Piotr Pawłowski, Rebecca Shane, Suwat Tangwancharoen, Manyee Betty Tsang, Hidetada Baba, Byungsik HongYoung Jin Kim, Hyo Sang Lee, Hideaki Otsu, Krzysztof Pelczar, Hiroyoshi Sakurai, Daisuke Suzuki, Zhigang Xiao, Sherry J. Yennello, Yan Zhang

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

12 Citations (Scopus)


The SπRIT Time Projection Chamber (TPC) was constructed at Michigan State University in the U.S.A. and transported to the Radioactive Isotope Beam Factory at RIKEN in Japan. In October 2015, the SπRIT TPC was commissioned with 200 AMeV 79Se beams outside the SAMURAI dipole magnet. The experimental setup consists of the SπRIT TPC, a Multiplicity Trigger Array, a KATANA array, and a Active Veto array. The TPC is fully equipped with a newly-developed read-out electronics system, GET electronics. The trigger logic to select events of the TPC based on the ancillary detectors was tested. The analysis software, SpiRITROOT, was developed to analyze the SπRIT TPC data to determine the best trigger logic for upcoming experiments.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)144-151
Number of pages8
JournalJournal of the Korean Physical Society
Issue number2
Publication statusPublished - 2016 Jul 1

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© 2016, The Korean Physical Society.


  • Commissioning
  • Equation of state
  • Time projection chamber
  • Trigger detector performance

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Physics and Astronomy


Dive into the research topics of 'Beam commissioning of the SπRIT time projection chamber'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this