Introduction to the special issue on biophotonics-part 2

Ilko K. Ilev, Lihong V. Wang, Stephen A. Boppart, Stefan Andersson-Engels, Beop Min Kim

Research output: Contribution to journalEditorialpeer-review

1 Citation (Scopus)
Original languageEnglish
Article number5512551
Pages (from-to)703-705
Number of pages3
JournalIEEE Journal on Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - 2010 Jul

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Lihong V. Wang (M’96–SM’00–F’06) received the Ph.D. degree from Rice University, Houston, TX, under the tutelage of Dr. R. Curl, Dr. R. Smalley, and Dr. F. Tittel. He is currently the Gene K. Beare Distinguished Professor of biomedical engineering at Washington University, St. Louis, MO, where he is also the Director of the Optical Imaging Laboratory. He is an Editor of the first comprehensive book on photoacoustic tomography. He has authored one of the first textbooks in the field of biomedical optics. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Biomedical Optics. He is the author or coauthor of 223 peer-reviewed journal articles and has delivered 239 invited talks. He invented or discovered frequency-swept ultrasound-modulated optical tomography, dark-field confocal photoacoustic microscopy (PAM), optical resolution PAM, photoacoustic Doppler sensing, photoacoustic reporter gene imaging, focused scanning microwave-induced thermoacoustic tomography, exact reconstruction algorithms for photoacoustic or thermoacoustic tomography, sonoluminescence tomography, Mueller-matrix optical coherence tomography, optical coherence computed tomography, and oblique-incidence reflectometry. His Monte Carlo model of photon transport in scattering media has been used worldwide. Prof. Wang is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, the Optical Society of America (OSA), and The International Society for Optical Engineers. He serves as an equal Co-Chair for the Annual Conference on Photons Plus Ultrasound, the 2010 Gordon Conference on Lasers in Medicine and Biology, and the 2010 OSA Topical Meeting on Biomedical Optics. He also Co-Chairs the International Biomedical Optics Society. He is a Chartered Member on a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Study Section. He serves as the Founding Chairs of the Scientific Advisory Boards for two companies commercializing his inventions. He was the recipient of an NIH FIRST Award, the National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, and the 2010 Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award.

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Atomic and Molecular Physics, and Optics
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Cite this